Here’s why Google Messages has disabled its ‘Clear data’ button
The Google Messages beta build is a great way to try out upcoming features for the messaging app (as long as the server-side flags align with your preferences), ranging from revamped context menus to…
Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
The Google Messages beta build is a great way to try out upcoming features for the messaging app (as long as the server-side flags align with your preferences), ranging from revamped context menus to UI overhauls. However, if you’ve recently jumped into your phone’s system settings to free up storage from the app, you might have noticed something strange. Recent Google Messages beta releases no longer allow users to clear app data directly from the Android system settings page, leaving the “Clear data” option grayed out. Before you panic, there is a very good reason behind this change: Google is potentially laying the groundwork for a dedicated, in-app storage manager.
Android app developers can choose to redirect Android’s system-level data-clearing functionality to a custom activity by making the requisite declarations in the app’s Manifest file . When this is in effect, tapping “Clear data” in the Android system settings’ sub-page for the app will not wipe user data as it does for other apps. Instead, it will launch a custom “Manage space” section within the app where users can selectively clear different data types.
You’re reading an Authority Insights story. Authority Insights brings you all the latest exclusive reports, app teardowns, leaks, and in-depth tech coverage from the Android Authority team that you won’t find anywhere else.
You have likely seen this in action with apps like Google Chrome and Google Play Services, where you are redirected to pages that let you selectively delete some data alongside a blanket clearing option.
In recent Google Messages beta builds (starting from v20260731 beta), Google has begun making the requisite declarations in the app’s manifest file, linking it to a new activity called:
However, because this space management activity is still a work in progress and currently non-functional, Android simply grays out the “Clear data” button altogether. Until Google fully wires up the activity and flips any server-side switches, beta users won’t be able to wipe the app’s data without uninstalling updates and rolling back to an older stable release.
A native storage management tool is something Google Messages has needed for a very long time. As RCS chats become the default standard, photos, videos, and voice notes can quickly bloat your phone’s storage over months of messaging. Having a dedicated menu to clear old media attachments selectively — without losing message history, for instance — will be a massive quality-of-life upgrade for Google Messages once it finally goes live.
Read Full Story at Android Authority →


